In this article you will learn about the Administrators, Editors, Readers and Owners as well as a description of what those permissions have access to.
Readers are users who can view documents in the folders, archives, and can see which version is being used. As a reader, they do not have permission to write and edit files. This role is generally to be used for external members of your intranet, though external members can be assigned other permissions if you so choose.
Editors have a bit more permissions than you would find in a standard windows server. Editors can create and edit content, archive and delete files, and restore content from either the trash bin or the archives. They can also move content to any file they have editor rights on. Editors can no longer manage user permissions.
Owners are the individuals responsible for the document or file group. Their information will be listed at the bottom right in case you need to contact them. Owners have all the rights of an editor. Unlike before, Owners CANNOT manage permissions. If they choose to, Owners will also
- Be notified of user comments
- Be reminded periodically to update or revise information
- The Owner role is not able to be inherited
Owners will always be assigned a secondary role, either that of an Administrator, or a Editor. This is to give all owners further control of their files.
Administrators as always, are in full control of the file and documents. They are able to create and edit content, as well as assign user permissions in their work areas. This includes changing the Owners of content. Administrators can give permissions to other users, and even grant other associated groups access to files, creating a shared, accessible environment were all can access the information they need!
System Administrator is visible to users with the Umbraco setting System Administrator. The System Administrator settings are accessed through the user thumbnail at the right corner of the page.
System administrators can then turn on an “Elevated Rights”-mode. This enables full admin rights (see Administrators above) to the Global Documents section of the intranet. This setting allows authorized users to reassign the permissions of users and content and rearrange the Global Documents Section. Be aware, these changes should be well planned and managed wisely, as they affect the entire intranet.
Only be a select few administrators should be assigned this role.
it is necessary for a user to have at least the 'Reader' role in all previous levels in Global Document. For example, if a user has Editor rights to a page on level 3, the role is only active if he has at least the Reader role in Levels 2 and 1.
If an administrator disables inherited roles, this would make the user unable to access Level 3 even though he still has the Editor role on the list.